Highland Historical Society

161 Mansion House Rd

P O Box 63

McDowell, VA 24458

540-396-HIST (4478)



The Highland Historical Society was originally formed in the 1980s for the purpose of creating and publishing a revised history of the county, The New History of Highland County, which is available from our Museum shop.

Today the Highland Historical Society is involved in an extensive array of projects dedicated to the preservation of Highland’s precious past. In May of 2005, the Society completed a partial restoration and renovation of the Mansion House and hosted the Grand Opening of the Highland Museum and Heritage Center in McDowell, Virginia.

The Highland Historical Society is also involved in the following projects:

  1. surveying and cataloguing all of Highland County’s historic sites and structures

  2. microfilming all of Highland County’s newspapers dating back to the 1800's

  3. collecting Highland genealogical records and local histories

  4. erecting signs to identify the smaller towns in Highland County

  5. supporting and working with other organizations to provide trails, markers, and parking at the site of the McDowell Battlefield

  6. working to save and preserve the McDowell Battlefield in cooperation with the Shenandoah Valley Battlefields Foundation

  7. financing the restoration of old and rare Highland County documents.

The Highland County Museum at the Mansion House is owned and operated by the Highland Historical Society, a 501c3 corporation.

All donations given to the Highland Historical Society are tax-deductible. The offices of the Society are located at the museum.

Anyone who is interested in preserving the history and heritage of Highland County, Virginia, and of the Virginia Highlands is invited to join The Highland Historical Society by contacting the society by any of the means listed at the right.

Highland Historical Society Board of Directors:

Carolyn Pohowsky - president, Terry Allamong - vice president,  James Blagg - treasurer, Clay Hamilton - secretary, Lorraine White, Mike Wolfe, Janine Hughes, Chris Scott, Keith Carson


Lori Botkin, Executive Director